Last updated: May 07. 2014 2:03PM - 468 Views
By Lenny C. Lepola newsguy@ee.net

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Each school year, in front of an audience of family, friends and school district staff members, Big Walnut High School students hold an impressive National Honor Society Induction Ceremony; and even more impressive were the numbers of new Big Walnut juniors and seniors inducted during this years Thursday, May 1, NHS Induction Ceremony — 58 new members were added to Big Walnut’s NHS chapter.

During introductory remarks, assistant principal Steve Butler told the inductees that membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors available to high school students; and challenged them to strive to achieve those high ideals for the rest of their lives.

The keynote speaker, Sunbury Mayor Tommy Hatfield, said NHS membership is a huge accomplishment.

“And this is not just about school,” Hatfield said. “The National Honor Society is also about character, leadership and service, and it’s important to take those gifts you have been given and use them in the world. If you have these talents, don’t let fear of failure or difficulties defeat you.

“In life, it’s so easy to become comfortable where you are,” Hatfield added. “Be willing to get out there and do what you know. Take these gifts you have to the next level. You’re capable of doing anything you want.”

The 2014 inductees into the Big Walnut High School Chapter of the National Honor Society are: Barento Abdurehman, Andrew Almendinger, Hannah Amato, Alexandra Armbruster, Tera Blair, Kelsey Bowling, Aaron Brown, Michael Buckles, Kailey Cagle, Natalie Cannell, John Civin, Ryan Cunningham, Kyle Davis, Alec Evans, Spencer Gibbs, Megan Glassmire, Nicholas Guglielmi, Makenna Hammond, Jamie Hatem, Jennifer Hupp, Erika Kessler, Iain Kirsch, Isaiah Kolb, Tyler Martin, Meghan Maynard, Madison McGuire, Nicholas Momeni, Daniel Mosher, Jessica Nelson, Kelly Newell, Erin O’Daniel, Rachel O’Morrow, John Osburn, Avery Pasch, Abigail Pauley, Anthony Pavuk, Ruth Plante, Bethany Rannebarger, Christina Schirtzinger, Krista Schmidt, Hannah Schwinne, Addison Shawver, Kathryn Sherman, William Smith, Cole Stark, Blake Stenger, Macy Stith, Stephanie Sutton, Jacob Thompson, Abby Tucker, Cassidy Walaszek, Kennedy Walls, Jennifer Wenger, Ashley White, Jireh White, Kelsey White, Michaella Young, Samantha Zalewski and Dominic Zumpone.

The National Honor Society, founded in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals, is a worldwide organization based in Reston, Virginia, and consists of chapters in high schools serving grades nine through 12, with selection based on four criteria: service, leadership, scholarship and character.

Typically, NHS members belong to chapters that operate independently of the national offices. While not always the case, such chapters are based in middle and secondary schools and maintain their own invitation and induction criteria for membership at that school.

National Honor Society groups are commonly active in community service both in the community and at the school. Many chapters maintain a requirement for participation in service activities.

In addition, NHS chapters typically elect officers, who, under the supervision of a chapter advisor, coordinate and manage the chapter as a student organization.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Sunbury Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com